“Creativity” Runs in the Family…

Once a week, two smart and fun 12-year-old girls babysit my boys after school. These girls are babysitters-in-training and my house is boot camp. I usually leave a note with instructions such as, “Please make sure the boys do their chores, snacks are in the fridge, 1/2 hour of tv time is okay, I’ll be home by 6pm.”

A couple of weeks ago I forgot to leave a note so my 7-year-old, Eliot, took matters into his own hands:

My favorite part is “shooger” spelled like booger– that and the overall ingenuity.

I was a BIG liar as a kid. My first lie, at age 2, pinned responsibility for a poop I’d left on the back porch, on our chickens. Like most kids, I lied to get out of trouble. But as I got older my lies were less about escaping blame and more about experimenting with what made a lie more or less believable and what I could get people to believe.

In 7th grade I convinced my friend Breeze that our friend Angie went home everyday after school, sat in her front yard and ate bugs. Breeze didn’t believe me at first; Angie was not a girl you’d look at and think, I bet she eats bugs… or boogers… or paste. “I know,” I said, “I wouldn’t have believed it either if I hadn’t seen it with my own eyes!” I went on to explain that an underground spring in Angie’s yard attracted an especially wide and, apparently, tasty variety of bugs. I kept going until I had Breeze… hook, line, and sinker. I left her there for a couple of hours and then came clean. It wasn’t about making Angie look like a bug-eating freak; it was about testing the limits of my bullshit artistry.

I’m still an amazing bullshit artist, but I only use my powers for good– never evil. I’m keeping an eye on Eliot to make sure he does the same.

P.S. 5-year-old Asa wanted to make his own contribution to this post. Here’s what he told me to write:
Foofoo feefee. Googoo googoo foofoo. Happy birthday! I’m turning 100 and I get 1000 gummy worms!

4 Comments

Filed under Entries

4 responses to ““Creativity” Runs in the Family…

  1. Breeze Coleman

    It was the 8th grade……..you bitch…

  2. Melody Dodd

    Shooger cravings can cause anyone resort to desperate measures. Love it!

Leave a Reply

